Department of Biotechnology

About Us

The department of Biotechnology was established in 2003 with a view to develop a Centre of Excellence in Education and Research in Biotechnology. In so doing, the M.Tech programme in Biotechnology was initiated with the students who qualified in the Combined Entrance Examination in Biotechnology (CEEB) conducted by Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. It is pertinent to mention that the M.Tech programme at U.Tech and Anna University, Chennai are only two supported by the Department of Biotechnology, Govt. of India. The course has got a national character. In addition, the department runs three other programmes namely M.Sc. in Molecular Biology, M.Sc. in Microbiology and M.Sc. in Genetics. The curriculum of the course (four semesters) comprises Chemistry, Microbiology, Genetics, Genetic Engineering, Protein Engineering, Downstream Processing, Bioethics and Intellectual Property Right (IPR) among others. Each semester has got 25 credits. The department has got updated infrastructure and a team of excellent faculty members. Their expertise encompasses various facets of frontier areas in science.

Unique Features :

  • Earn while you Learn programme for students
  • Credit Exchange programme with University of Pune
  • Fellowship : Rs. 12,000/- per month granted by DBT (Govt. of India) for M.Tech in Biotechnology students who are admitted through GAT-B
  • .

Admission to M.Sc.

Admission to M.Tech. in Biotechnology

Admission to M.Sc. Program in:
Molecular Biology

M.Sc. in Molecular Biology (ten seats), M.Sc. in Microbiology (fifteen seats) and M.Sc. in Genetics (ten seats) is offered

Eligibility criteria for the courses:
For M.Sc. Programs in Molecular Biology/ Microbiology/Genetics

B.Sc. with honours in Zoology/ Botany/ Physiology/ Microbiology/ Biotechnology/ Molecular Biology/ Biochemistry/ Genetics/ Physics/ Chemistry/ Mathematics/ Computer Science and not less than 55% marks in the honours subject.

Candidates appearing for their final year examination, or whose results are awaited, may also apply  provided that, if selected, they  will be admitted provisionally subject to submission of their final mark sheet by the cut-off date to be notified later by the university, failing which the provisional admission shall stand canceled.

Application Process:
Candidates have to apply through CET examination

Admission to M.Tech. Program in:

M.Tech. in Biotechnology (thirty seats), is offered

Eligibility criteria for the courses:
B.Pharm/ B.Tech ./B.E.(Biotechnology, Biochemical engineering, Biomedical engineering, Industrial biotechnology, Chemical engineering, Pharmaceutical technology, Chemical technology, Food technology, Food engineering)/M.Sc.(Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Botany, Zoology, Microbiology, Genetics, Life sciences, Bioengineering) Minimum of 60% marks or equivalent CGPA from any recognized university. Admission to reserved category candidates will be as per Government of India rules .

Studentship Support:
Rs. 12000/- per month for AT-B candidates. The continuation of stipend for the second year of the programme is subject to satisfactory progress of the student Application Process:
Candidates have to apply through GAT-B or PGET examination

Faculty and Staff
Name Department Designation
Dr.. Raja Banerjee Department of Biotechnology Professor
Dr. Arup Mukherjee Department of Biotechnology Adjunct Professor
Dr. Jaya Bandyopadhyay HoD Department of Biotechnology Associate Professor
Dr. Rina Rani Ray , Department of Biotechnology Associate Professor
Dr. Ranjita Biswas Department of Biotechnology Associate Professor
Dr. Tufan Naiya Department of Biotechnology Assistant Professor
Dr. Debdut Naskar Department of Biotechnology Assistant Professor
Dr. Smarajit Das Department of Biotechnology Assistant Professor
Dr. Suryyani Deb Department of Biotechnology Assistant Professor (UGC)
Dr. Amit Kumar Chakraborti Department of Biotechnology Faculty
Sayantani Majumder Department of Biotechnology Faculty

Ongoing projects
Bioinformatic tools and comparative microbial community analysis- funded By Department of Science & Technology, India, under DST-DAAD Personal Exchange Program Genetic Resource Management of East Calcutta Wetlands - funded by Department of Science & Technology, India under DST Fast Track Scheme for young Scientists.


Infrastructure Developed
Laboratory space, covering a total area of approximately 2000 sq. feet, has been divided into 5 laboratories.
A) Basic Molecular Biology (including recombinant DNA Technology)
B) Immunotechnology
C) Protein Engineering and Enzyme Technology
D) Microbial Technology
E) Biochemistry

Wet Lab Equipments
Bioinformatics Lab Practical classes are being carried out as a part of the students� laboratory course-work in the aforesaid laboratories. Additionally, separate tissue culture room have been set up to carry out plant tissue culture. Separate space for faculties, lecture theatre, and seminar, have also been allotted in the department.

Bioinformatics Lab Facilities
Bioinformatics Softwares
Sequence AnalysisSoftware 
EMBOSS (along with EMBA SSY package)
Helix packing

Visualization and Modeling Software 

Energy Minimization Software 
CHARMM (under processing)

Chemistry Software 
Docking Software 

Drug Designing Software 

Bioinformatics LTSP server
Provides full GUI forwarding to all thin clients

No. of terminals (thin clients) 20 (PXE enabled)
Server 2 x IBM x206
HDD 20 x 160 GB Serial ATA (RAID I configuration)
RAM 2 GB    ECC    DDR2
EtherNet card 2 x 10/100/1000 ethernet cards
Operating System Fedora Core 4

Other Servers/PCs 2 x 226, 2 x 160 GB
Serial ATA HDD, 2 GB ECC
DDR2 RAM, 2 x
10/100/1000 Ethernet cards
IBM Power PC (P630)

West Bengal University of Technology - members of the BioGrid, setup by the IIT, New Delhi, for high performance cluster computing ScFBio

Future Plans
To setup two LTSP servers serving 10 terminals (thin clients) each, both the LTSP servers to be connected to two dedicated application servers loaded with different Bioinformatics softwares of regular use. This is in view to make the servers� response time the minimum.
LTSP server

2 (IBM x206, 160GB serial ATA HDD
2 x 10/100/1000 Ethernet cards)

Application  Server 2 ( x226, 2 x 160 GB
2 x 10/100/1000 Ethernet cards

Bioinformatics Lab Developing a cluster computing facility in the university campus, to meet the high end computational requirements for molecular dynamics and molecular modeling jobs.

Other Facilities Developed
  1. Cold room (4oC)
  2. Incubation room (37oC)
  3. Culture room (20oC)
  4. Chemistry Laboratory

Department of Biotechnology
Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology, West Bengal
NH-12, Haringhata, Nadia, West Bengal, Pin - 741249

Last Updated: 03-06-1990 11:41